All businesses operating in Utah must be registered with the Department of Commerce and licensed with a city or county in the state. The following information explains the benefits of registration and licensure and why and how a business should register and receive a license.
Who Must Register Their Business?
All businesses in Utah are required by law to register with the Utah Department of Commerce either as a DBA (Doing Business As), corporation, limited liability company or limited partnership. Businesses are also required to obtain a business license from the city or county in which they are located.
Why Are Businesses Required to Register?
Registration is required so that a comprehensive state registry of all business and corporate information is available for public reference. This information is vital to an orderly legal system and marketplace. Without it, the public or other businesses may have no way of knowing the persons with whom they are doing business.
Where Do You Register Your Business Name?
You can register your business by contacting:
|The Utah State Tax Commission
Ogden Branch Office
2447 Lincoln Ave
Ogden UT, 84401
|Division of Corporations and Commercial Code
Department of Commerce
Heber M. Wells Building
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 45801
Salt Lake City, Utah 84145-0801
You can register your business either in person or by mail. There is a $20.00 filing fee for a renewable three-year registration for a D.B.A. Businesses that incorporate or form a limited liability company or limited partnership must file incorporating or organizing articles with a filing fee of $75.00.
Limited liability partner ships have a $20.00 filing fee - renewable each year.
City and County Business Licenses
Who Must License Their Business?
By law, all businesses are required to license with the local municipality in which they are doing business. General standards exist for licensure, but each city and county also have unique requirements and procedures. It is best to contact your city or county office to know the exact standards that are set for licensure.
Why Are Municipal Business Licenses Required?
Local licensure ensures that businesses are safe to the public and given the protections under the law to which a licensed business is entitled. A business may be visited or inspected and required to fulfill local zoning, building and parking requirements before receiving a license. This ensures employee and public health, safety and welfare.
When Should a Business License With a County Office?
Counties have jurisdiction over the unincorporated areas of the county. If your business is in an unincorporated are of the county, you should contact your county office.
Some counties require that all businesses that sell food, liquor and gas within county borders are required to receive a special permit or license from the county.